top of page

Gameplay Brainstorming #1

Despite the module description, I had no idea what I was getting into when I got my timetable and saw Gameplay Prototyping listed. All I knew was that it was a third-year class, and, as a second-year study-abroad student, that scared the shit out of me! I’m still getting a handle on all of the things expected of me, but I’m excited to dive head first into this class and make the best thing I can as a first time Unity user. I began brainstorming my gameplay mechanics right away, but, admittedly, I procrastinated. It was just terrifying; I knew what a game mechanic was, but I didn’t *know* what a game mechanic was. Luckily I have a wonderful nerd of a boyfriend, and he helped me sit down and brainstorm and now I have the inklings of what I want to make.

My initial concept revolves around the Greek mythology story of Minos the Minotaur and the two heroes that defeated him and his maze, Theseus and Ariadne. The game would take place in a maze with the minotaur slowly hunting you down. There are two main gameplay mechanics I would like to focus on: the first would be a golden rope that trails behind the player as they move, allowing them to find their way back out of the maze when they reach a dead end. The rope would be limited in length, so when the player reaches the end of the allotted distance they would be on their own and need to navigate the rest of the maze with no lifeline. The second mechanic comes in the form of the minotaur itself; it will be programmed to hunt down the player, and when it comes across the rope it will speed up and catch up to the player much more quickly. Here are my brainstorming notes:


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page